I'm New -So Should I Just Post Something? OK (read on)

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by remotethumb, Aug 16, 2013.

1. remotethumb

remotethumb New Member

Seriously I'm a newbie. I think Nation States is pretty cool. I just want to post something, if I'm in the wrong forum or whatever just delete me. ha ha o.k., Since we are Capitalists I guess I should post an economic question.

Something that I've been stewing about is the whole government-sponsored healthcare plan. Before anyone thinks I'm an uncaring butt-wipe, let me just say 2 facts: 1) After graduation I went to work for less money but better benefits. I'm no executive, just a regular middle-class Joe. My Insurance has changed. Now I'm paying a penalty, per the new law. I have a "cadillac plan". So I pay a penalty. I got no problem paying extra for others to have the same great benefits I've had. But I can get a little ticked thinking about the fact that maybe I deserve some sort of rebate for taking much less in salary for better benefits. (I've not been sick/needed my insurance this whole time) If I knew then what I know now I would have just not worried about my health insurance. And now I would be off the hook. And 2) I have friends who work "under-the-table." I mean most of the people I know are "under the table." They get every government assistance (WIC, stamps, housing) My friends have never paid for insurance in their life. When I talk like this, people say "you're a sorry S.O.B. to not care for your countrymen." I understand that. But I believe I have the right to bitch about my lost wages over the past 15 years because I cared enough to provide insurance for my family on my own. I took it as a duty.

Last edited: Aug 16, 2013
  2. Capitalist Producers

Capitalist Producers Confirmed Nation

Welcome to the brave new world.

That is your fist mistake. While charity is nice, you are by default endorsing the very program you are complaining about.